Shepard’s Pie VS Cottage Pie?

The true question of the day is whether or not it is called Shepard’s Pie or Cottage Pie?

I ask this question because last night I made a pretty darn tasty batch of one of those two and I am not too sure what to call it without offending others; people actually argue over this topic on the internet: Shepard’s Pie VS. Cottage Pie.

Here is the big difference that I found between the two that may settle this debate once and for all:

  1. The difference between “cottage pie” and “shepherd’s pie”, is the meat.
    1. Shepherd’s pie contains lamb, and Cottage Pie usually contains beef.
    2. Add cheese and you got yourself a Cumberland Pie
Please comment if I'm wrong; I would love to know the difference!

Whatever it is that I cooked, it was absolutely delicious! I wrote up the recipe for you all to try at home yourself and of course I included some yummy pictures of my process from start to finish.


unnamedunnamed (2)

From all of the recipes I have read everyone adds in different vegetables to their pies; the staples are usually carrots and peas. I did use one of the staples, carrots, along with onion, garlic, and since I did not have any peas I decided to add in green peppers to have make up for the lack of green.


unnamed (1)unnamed (4)

I felt like I needed more veggies for dinner so I decided to bake up some of my new favorite vegetables: Brussel Sprouts. Washed them, cut the stems off, sprinkle with: olive oil, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and a little bit of salt.


unnamed (3)unnamed (8)

Mid process of mixing everything together & boiling the potatoes. Woah, did it start smelling good at this point!

PS: Please ignore the SVEDKA bottle in the background- remember I am a college student who still enjoys the occasional cheap vodka.


unnamed (5)unnamed (6)unnamed (7)

Yes, I leave the skins on my potatoes; it is a personal preference of mine. They still tasted delicious; all I mixed in was a little bit of milk, butter, and salt. Of course, I can’t go without licking the “spoon” when I get done mixing.


unnamed (10)unnamed (11)unnamed (9)unnamed (14)

FINISHED PRODUCTS: Cottage Pie (??) sprinkled with smoked paprika & pepper with a side of baked Brussel Sprouts.


Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds potatoes, such as russet, cubed
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, 1 turn of the pan
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup beef stock or broth
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire, eyeball it
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 bulb of garlic
  • 3 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 pound of washed and cut Brussel Sprouts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  Put the Brussel Sprouts in a bowl add olive oil, salt, garlic powder, paprika, and pepper. Mix all together and put on a sheet lined with foil. Cook for 30 minutes.

Boil potatoes in salted water until tender, about 12 minutes. Drain potatoes and pour them into a bowl. Combine with milk, 2 tablespoons of butter and salt. Mix until potatoes are almost smooth.

While potatoes boil, preheat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add oil to hot pan with ground turkey. Season meat with salt, paprika and pepper. Brown and crumble meat for 3 or 4 minutes. Add chopped carrot, onion, green peppers and garlic to the meat. Cook veggies with meat 5-10 minutes, stirring frequently. In a second small skillet over medium heat cook the rest of the butter and flour together 2 minutes. Whisk in broth and Worcestershire sauce. Thicken gravy 1 minute. Add gravy to meat and vegetables.

Preheat broiler to high. Fill a casserole dish with meat and vegetable mixture. Spoon potatoes over meat evenly. Top potatoes with paprika and pepper and broil 6 to 8 inches from the heat until potatoes are evenly browned. Waallaa, a delicious dinner (if timed out correctly) in around 30 minutes!


If you were not able to read my last blog, I decided to end my blogs with cooking tips from the book “Keys To Good Cooking: A Guide to Making the Best of Foods and Recipes.” I’ll start at the very beginning of the book and work my way through with each blog I post.

Chapter 1: Getting To Know Foods

  • Tip #2: The surest way to cook with pleasure & success- whether you are a beginner, a weekend gourmand, or an accomplished chef- is to cook with an understanding.
One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    I couldn’t decide if I had to choose between shepards and cottage 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

