You Had Me At Pizza

I am currently trying to slim up & diet down for the bikini season that is right around the corner but you know what else is right around the corner… pizzerias. My ultimate kryptonite: pizza! The thick dough, the warm, ooey-gooey cheese and the endless options of toppings on top; how can anyone say no to pizza? If I was put in a scenario where I had to choose: Eat only pizza for the rest of my life OR eat anything I wanted besides pizza- Pizza would come out on top. If my body (and my wallet) allowed me to eat pizza daily I would be going out in a cheesy blaze of glory every day.

My one wish in life is to have pizza make me skinny, instead of the other way around. I know that is super optimistic but a girl can always dream, right?

Pi Pizzeria:

Pi Pizzeria, home of irrationally delicious deep dish cornmeal crust St. Louis style pizza. With a delicious abundant sweet, tomato sauce, the divine flavor of the meatballs, a crust satisfying enough to temp me to eat it backwards and the little heat that the red pepper flakes brought made this Kirkwood pizza absolutely delicious. Yes, the pizza as a whole was quite delicious but that crust… man that crust is just amazing!

12391119_452698458188010_3962125453369042447_nKIRKWOOD:
Mozz, Meatball, Red Pepper, Basil.


Adriaticos:

A University of Cincinnati favorite and home to the Bearcat Pizza; a pizza so big (18″ x 24″) that it could feed 10-12 people. If you come to Adriacticos it is a MUST that you try their Sicilian style crust; a yummy thick crust dosed in a garlic butter. Every time I come here I like to try something new my latest choice: The BBQ Chicken Pizza. I have to admit it wasn’t the best that I have had there… I feel like the BBQ sauce that they use on it was not the right choice, it was missing something or maybe there just wasn’t enough on it. I like my pizzas messy and saucy, if it’s not all over my face then I can’t consider it a great pizza. However, the flavors that the onions and jalapeños brought to this pizza was right on point and the sweetness of the sauce complimented it quite well and was able to even the level of heat.

17523218_716853748439145_5564394517306680579_nBBQ Chicken Pizza:
Chicken, Onion, Jalapeños, Bacon, BBQ sauce.


Kroger Cafe: 

Yes, you heard me right-Kroger as in the super market. Their pizza that they throw out of their ovens are quite delicious and fresh and you can’t beat the price: $3 for a nice size slice of pizza. I received one of their specialty pizza, a Chicken Pesto Pizza, which included: Chicken, Pesto sauce, red onion, drizzled with hot sauce. Sounds like a weird combination but it was surprisingly delicious. The heat from the hot sauce brought this pizza to whole new level of flavor that I never knew existed. The garlic from the pesto, the juicy chicken, strong onions and the heat and vinegary flavor from the hot sauce made this a perfect combination.

17884331_716853661772487_2277671982015555246_n17951779_716853605105826_6300228747156930304_nChicken Pesto:
Chicken, Pesto, Red Onion, & Hot Sauce.


Mio’s Pizza:

Since 1975, the pizza professionals at Mio’s Pizza have been providing excellent food to the Greater Cincinnati area at family-friendly prices and becoming known for their Speciality Stuffed Pizzas. Filled with what seems to be an endless amount of ooey-gooey goodness of three cheeses, a bucket load of warm, sweet tomato sauce and stuffed with countless options of pizza toppings. Instead of choosing my own toppings, I chose to order one of their specialty pizzas instead and I was not at all disappointed! A stuffed pizza inspired by the “Windy City” filled with Italian sausage, onions and green peppers with three types of cheeses. I was OVERLY “stuffed” by the end of it. 

IMG_2037IMG_2032IMG_2036Windy City Classic: 
Italian sausage, onions and green peppers with three types of cheeses.


Leave a Reply

